First Dance Songs

Lately I’ve taken a more active role with some of my brides in helping them plan other details of their wedding day. I’ve helped with layouts, color schemes, day of coordinating – you name it, I’m always there to assist when I can. One of my favorite questions to help with is “Do you have any suggestions for first dance songs”. Why yes, yes I do! I’ll be honest, I’m not big on the traditional first dance songs – “At Last” by Etta James is a beautiful and classic choice, but there are so many under the radar songs that can make your day a little more memorable to you and your guests. So, here is a list of some nontraditional, and a few traditional, wedding first dance songs that I love.

First the traditional songs

– At Last – Etta James
– Amazed – Lonestar
– Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong
– Unforgettable – Nat and Natalie Cole
– You Are So Beautiful – Joe Cocker
– Bless The Broken Road – Rascal Flatts
– Have A Little Faith In Me – John Hiatt
– Overjoyed – Stevie Wonder

Untradtional

– Let It Be Me – Ray LaMontagne
– Early April Morning – Brendan James
– Your Best Thing – Aslyn
– I Will Follow You Into The Dark – Death Cab For Cutie
– I’m Kissing You – Des’ree
– Such A Way – Stephen Kellogg and The Sixers
– Already In – Jon McLaughlin
– Fire – Augustana
– The Luckiest – Ben Folds Five
– Someday Soon – Nathan Angelo
– I Hope I Don’t Fall In Love With You – Tom Waits
– Loving You – Paolo Nutini
– First Day Of My Life – Bright Eyes
– Feels Like Home – Chantal Kreiazuk


Quirky

– Pistol – Dustin Kensrue
– Young Dumb And In Love – Mat Kearney

And just in case you wanted to know, my husband and I used ‘I Could Fall In Love’ by Selena.

Leave a Reply

